Battleground, Personal and National


And for a spirit of judgment to him that sitteth in judgment, and for strength to them that turn the battle to the gate. (Isaiah 28:6, KJV).”

A Christian brother told me I became a choice target for Satan when I began moving closer to God. Temptations intensified when I decided to give my life over to Christ. The devil increased its firepower in a last-ditch flurry of bullets to knock me off the ladder. I had several falls, but I kept getting back on. Thankfully, the Lord delivered me, and I have ascended much farther than ever before, all under His grace.

If we keep moving up, Satan “flees” from us. Satan is a pragmatist and would rather devote time to easier targets operating closer to its lair.

Yet, while the devil flees, demons may choose to return with more firepower. I know this all too well. For years, when I struggled with sin, I would have years of “remission” from it, then, suddenly or so it seemed, I would be sinning as never before. Scripture confirms this from the mouth of our Lord, who explained to the incredulous crowds about him some facets of demonology that only Jesus as Lord could share:

“When the unclean spirit is gone out of a man, he (the unclean spirit) walketh through dry places, seeking rest; and finding non, he saith, I will return unto my house whence I came out. And when he cometh, he findeth it swept and garnished. Then goeth he, and taketh to him seven other spirits more wicked than himself; and they enter in, and dwell there: and the last state of that man is worse than the first.” (Lk 11:24-26)

Seven spirits stronger than the first… My resolve ebbs – not a lot, just a trickle. I look to the Lord for help. I look to the cross. There seems little besides prayer to guide me.

Save me, O Most High. I do not want to pass back the other way. Grant me the strength to take this battle back to the streets, for the willingness to find others suffering from the rock, and let us break this rock together, with the Lord’s staff as a hammer.

Lord help turn the battle for me. Help drive out the enemies back beyond the gate but over the precipice into the infested waters, O Most High.

Evil spirits have invaded, been driven out but pockets remain and I cannot vanquish them myself, but only through Love, and that is something I would not have were it not for God.

The same is true for our nation. Evil has invaded, we have beaten it back so many times, yet it always returns and it gets more and more powerful with time. But now our America is a changed place – they are taking down the crosses from our churches, and taking the Christ out of Christmas. We are sitting ducks for evil because we have no defense without the cross.

Our military can do nothing to defeat pure evil. Only Christ can do that. Are we asking Him? Or are we allowing our idolatrous faith in other sources of weak power (like a man-made Constitution and a few activist judges, or a few angry college professors led only by pride and lust) to decide our fate?

About Pete Mladineo


Leave a Reply

