Dissection #2, Psalms 101


I will sing of mercy and judgment: unto thee, O LORD, will I sing.

I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me?

I will walk within my house with a perfect heart. I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; [it] shall not cleave to me.

A froward heart shall depart from me: I will not know a wicked [person].

Whoso privily slandereth his neighbour, him will I cut off: him that hath an high look and a proud heart will not I suffer.

Mine eyes [shall be] upon the faithful of the land, that they may dwell with me: he that walketh in a perfect way, he shall serve me.

He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight.

I will early destroy all the wicked of the land; that I may cut off all wicked doers from the city of the LORD.

I will sing of [goodness, kindness, faithfulness] and [the divine gavel]: unto thee will I [strike the chord in celebration]. I will [be circumspect] [in all that I do]. O when will Thou [meet with me] I will [go about my business] with a [completeness of heart]. I will [put] no [word, matter or thing before more that has no spiritual profit for me]. I [have an aversion to] the [ungodly efforts] of them that [have turned off the path]; it shall not [impinge or catch me by pursuit]. A [false/ crooked] heart shall [fall away] from me. I will not have [knowledge of or acquaintance with a bad man]. [Whomever] [in secrecy] [calumniates] his [associate or neighbor], him will I [extirpate: destroy completely or uproot]. He that has a [lofty] [outward appearance] and a [broad] [conceit] I [won’t endure]. My eyes (will, under obligation) be (fixed) upon the [reliable] of the nation, that they may [abide] with me; he that [goes about] a [mature course of life], he shall [contribute] to my office [of king]. He that [performs] [treachery] shall not [abide] within my house: He that [speaks] [untruths] (will) not [be established] in my [eyes]. I will [at dawn] [extirpate: destroy completely or uproot] all the morally wrong, evil people] of this nation; that I may [sever] [all who practice idolatry and wickedness] (from being constituents of the Lord’s city).

 

A Psalm of David (A Praise-Song composed by a king, in other words, what I will do as king…)

The divine gavel; thy good loving faithfulness, to this shall I strike a chord of celebration (maybe F major?). I shall stride circumspectly as I run Thy entire course set apart for me. O when, Dear Lord, will You visit me again? I will go about in my house with a completeness of heart. I will place no unprofitable item before me, not even a worldly newspaper or a sexy TV commercial. I can’t stand the toil of those who divert from Thy direction; this lifestyle shall not impinge on my own way of living, nor will it catch by pursuit. A crooked inner self shall, which means “will, under obligation,” fall away from me: I will not (associate with) bad dudes.

Whomever backbites his friends or associates, I will uproot completely. He that has a lofty demeanor and a broad conceit I won’t tolerate. You, LORD, have obligated me to fix my gaze on those reliable to God in our nation, that they may abide with me; he that follows a mature course of life shall be a part of my office as king. He that performs treachery will not abide within my palace: He that telleth lies or pulls scams will not have any roots planted in my fields of vision.

 

About Pete Mladineo


One response to “Dissection #2, Psalms 101

Leave a Reply

