3) Reasons to Praise God: Blood (Leviticus 17:14)


Are these cherry-flavored lifesavers? Not! They're RBCs, proof of God's immaculate design prowess.

I will praise thee for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. (Psalm 139:14)

The Hebrew word palah, was translated as:” wonderfully made.” But it actually means, to be separated, distinguished. And the “fearfully” part — from Hebrew, “yare” to fear, tremble, reverence. This really means: I will praise thee God, because just by virtue of the knowledge of my human design is the fear of God put into me — they craftsmanship is superb, and when I sit down to think about it, it cannot be denied.

This phrase is really talking about God’s architecture of our bodies,  down to our the smallest components.

Let’s look at one tiny but extremely significant feature in that design. The red blood cell (or RBC, or erythrocyte) is an example of God’s expertise in local logistics — moving oxygen from our lungs to all parts of our bodies that need it. The RBC has a completely perfect design: Not too fast, not too slow, not too absorbent, not too slippery, etc, but perfectly shaped to be able to deliver the goods from toe to brain.

Years ago, before I got saved, I became fascinated with a series of books about vampires. I’ll spare the titles and the author’s name but there was one problem: I am squeamish. As much as I loved reading those profane and arcane books, I ended up skimming quite a few chapters because of all the mentions of blood. In fact, I tend to gloss over things having anything to do with blood. I probably missed most of my biology in school because of that mad, red serum.

But, says God, blood is life, and our lives depend upon our blood. It is said that George Washington died because of complications from bloodletting. He had gotten a throat infection, and they began bleeding him. His doctors took an enormous amount of his blood, and shortly thereafter the First President of the United States expired. Next to Washington’s death bed was his Bible, which had sufficient warnings against bloodletting. …the life of all flesh [is] the blood thereof…” (Leviticus17:14) And vice versa:“for the blood [is] the life.” (Deuteronomy 12:23)

Modern science has since learned so much about the primacy of blood and about the idiocy of bloodletting. Science has also learned about the genius of the design of the red blood cell, one of two designs in blood that God Almighty has given us.

The blood of Jesus Christ, the Son of God, was shed so that all who call on him may have eternal life and overcome the death sentence levied on the human race in times immemorial. Whoso eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day. (John 6:54)

This eternal blood is precious. In the days of the Old Testament, animal blood had purifying power and was shed to atone for sins. Now, because Christ the Son of God shed his blood on Calvary , his blood will remove every hint of sin between us and God Almighty. Christ, for us, is God’s most noble design. It is a perfect life-carrying vessel for our spiritual lives, just as the RBC is the perfect vessel for oxygen in our physical bodies.

About Pete Mladineo


2 responses to “3) Reasons to Praise God: Blood (Leviticus 17:14)

  • brianshaw

    Interesting post. Have you ever gotten blood on your clothes? The stain can be hard to get out. That’s why to me, it is both ironic and cool at the same time that Jesus’ blood “washes our stains white as snow.”

    I like what Emerson said, “All I have seen teaches me to trust the creator for all I have not seen.”

    Glory be to our Creator!

  • Brother Pete

    Absolutely — only God could design His “cleansing solution” with those kinds of dynamics. The blood of His Son can wash away all of our sin; it too flows with living water, yet we cannot get a simple bloodstain off of a dress shirt. Thanks for posting here!

Leave a Reply

