5) Reasons to Praise God: Kings!


Enough of elections. Let get us a king!

Enough of elections. Let's get us a king!

The people’s will, as expressed in the Bible, was neither friendly nor was it wise. Jesus Christ lost his one and only election — to Barabbas. The governor answered and said unto them, Whether of the twain will ye that I release unto you? They said, Barabbas. (Matthew 27:20-21)

The people chose Barabbas, a murderer and insurrectionist, as opposed the King of Kings. Ponder this and wonder why we have such trouble choosing presidents, etc.. Later elections included the casting of lots to pick Matthias, the 12th Apostle, replacing Judas Iscariot. (Jesus later returned and cast his ballot on the 12th Apostle, picking Paul.) All things evaluated, I don’t see how God can be that much of a fan of democracy.

Even so, we are to regard our leaders as being chosen by God. Paul wrote: Let every soul be subject unto the higher powers. For there is no power but of God: the powers that be are ordained of God. Whoever therefore resisteth the power, resisteth the ordinance of God: and they that resist shall receive to themselves damnation. (Romans 13:1-2)

With the election season in full swing and this country in the throes of some of the most rancorous whining and self-destructive behavior ever, I can only gain any comfort from seeking the Lord’s face, not slick answers from politicians nor the hateful evil-speak of the press. A glance at the Bible’s take on government shows that ultimately, it’s His choice, not ours. So stop complaining.

The great news is the leadership that God has put in our lives: Our parents, our preachers, our teachers, our benevolent officials… Why so many people decide to aim at the king and gripe at him like that, I don’t know. That represents one of the worst parts of human nature.

It does say in the Bible, “Be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.” (Ephesians 4:32) How this applies to my position towards governmental leadership is plain: If I am one of God’s people, I have no business blasting politicians and badmouthing them much worse than I would someone that I would meet face-to-face. Expressing hatred and animosity is a luxury for heathens, but not for me.

Christian, you have no business engaging in the smearing, hating, lying, evil-speaking world of politics. Sure, we’ve all got one vote: use it wisely! But that’s it! We are commanded by God to be obedient and to be forgiving, to be loyal subjects to our magistrate.

But above all, we await the rule of the King of Kings!

Jesus answered, My kingdom is not of this world: if my kingdom were of this world, then would my servants fight, that I should not be delivered to the Jews: but now is my kingdom not from hence. (John 18:36)

This king, Christ Jesus, coming down from the clouds after the clarion blast of the trumpet, gets my vote every time. And for those brought to power by the voice of the rabble, I’ll be praying for you. I hope you too will be praying for us.

About Pete Mladineo


Leave a Reply

