Lenten Reflection


The wastrel said,

Let me live my life to the fullest

and live out the dream of dreams.

I shall walk on all lands and swim in all oceans

and fly everywhere else in between.

I shall touch all currencies and swill the best wines

Scale all the highest peaks and not wait in lines.

My wife will be a trophy; my children future kings

All enemies shall I vanquish; and wear the most purple of slings.

But then I stood at the precipice; watching the end of time

fearing the red floes beneath me, and wondering what could have been.


 

About Pete Mladineo


Leave a Reply

