Happy Lazarus Saturday Eve!


Happy Lazarus Saturday Eve! It’s the Anniversary of my and my son Johan’s baptism in Christ. http://ow.ly/vHf2j

I remember the event five years ago like it was yesterday. It was pouring rain. I brought in my entire family, most of whom are not Orthodox, and had to fend off difficult questions and pretend that I didn’t hear unpleasant asides that I overheard.

Now, from the vantage point of history, the day seems so magical to me. Well, more mystical than magical, because my memory of it is tempered with heart-pain.

I sit here alone and estranged. I can only dream of the day I’ll see my family again, intact.

With God, all things are possible. But then, when we don’t walk with God and seek after our own worldly contentment, then how thin is that life!

As I recall our baptismal gifts, I think of the words of St. Barsanuphius of Egypt, who said, “Every gift is received through pain of heart.”

About Pete Mladineo


One response to “Happy Lazarus Saturday Eve!

Leave a Reply

